What A Difference A Year Makes

I wrote this a few weeks ago, but obviously forgot to hit post. Oops!

 

Dear Booger,

Today is Easter, a celebration of life.

Last year, on the day before Easter, I poas (peed on a stick) never, ever dreaming that I would see pregnant on the test without a not in front of it.

Image

I wish I had taken a picture of the look on your Daddy’s face.

 After he told me to get the test out of his face. “Ew! You peed on that!” 

We went to church with Grandma and Grandpa Saturday night and Daddy called his momma Grandma. I wish I had a picture of her face, too. She looked like the cat that ate the canary. 

Easter Sunday we went to dinner at Grandma Shuggie’s house and called Papa on the way to let him know he was going to be a grandpa.

We didn’t want Papa to be out of the loop. He was so excited! You could almost hear him clapping himself on the back like he had something to do with it. 

We got to Grandma Shuggie’s and I was fit to be tied with excitement to let the rest of this side of the family know you were coming. Shuggie, Tia, Tio Mateo, Aunt B, Auntie H, Daddy and I all sat down at the table to eat. Shuggie prayed, thanking God for the food and for the time as a family together. D, I couldn’t help it. As soon as Shuggie said amen, I blurted out, “And thank you, God, that I’m pregnant.”

I thought Tio Mateo and Daddy’s eardrums were going to explode and start bleeding with all the squealing going on. Growing up in that house with three sisters, we were all used to shrill noises…

Booger, we’ve had some ups and downs this past year with my pregnancy, delivery and more admissions to the hospital than I’d care for, mine and yours.  But this crazy, upside down year went from finding out you were coming to being able to celebrate Easter this year with you.

I wouldn't trade this face for anything.

I wouldn’t trade this face for anything.

D, you have been hoped for, prayed for, wished for and loved like no other little boy I know. You are the most amazing thing I have ever had a part in and you fill my heart to bursting with joy every. single. day.

I love you to infinity and beyond.

Love,

Momma

D's first Easter.

D’s first Easter.

Happy Easter from us to you!

Leave a Reply

